Corset Training – Day One

Sir is allowing me to explore waist training with corsets. I have always loved the way corsets have looked, but until recently, I’d never worn one.

The first one was borrowed from Sir’s girl.  It felt like a nice, tight hug.  I liked that – a lot.  I understand now the weighted vests that are used to ease anxiety.  When I felt that and how comfortable it really was, I wanted to try waist training.  Over the years, along with anything to do with corsetry, it’s been a passing interest.

Well, I’ve done some research and joined some Felife groups.  I’m still very new to this, but I’ve learned a few things.  I had no idea corsets had to be “seasoned”, until now.  I’ve learned how to do it as well and how long it takes.  I will continue to do research as I need to.  My goal, overall, is permanent waist reduction. It will take time.  Especially since I have no plans at this point to work up to 23/7.  I think I’d like to keep the time around 12 hours a day tops – that will give me plenty of time to exercise and everything else.  Plus, until I can move around in a corset, I need to be able to do housework and stuff.

Sir ordered corsets for me from corsetdeal.com.  The reviews from Fetlife aren’t all that great, but it seems that they prefer custom made corsets.  I understand why and I would agree that if you can afford it, it’s probably better than ready to wear corsets. However, I do not have the money yet for a custom made corset. Not to mention, for the waist training, I’m not sure I want to invest in that until I’m at a point where I simply want to maintain.

I now have three corsets of my own – a waist trainer (which I’m wearing right now as I’m typing!) and two fashion corsets.  All three have metal boning, which is good.  The two I got today are heavy, so the material is sturdy.  The other one should arrive in the mail shortly.  Sizing these things was…a lot, actually. Figuring out how to size a corset and what measurements are needed – well, some of the measurements were easy, others not so much.  Then trying to find a corset that would fit all the measurements comfortably – well, that became something of a hunt.  But, I think I got it.

I’m seasoning the waist trainer right now.  That means, essentially, that it’s not laced as tight as it could be.  From everything I’ve watched and read, this is the proper thing to do – if you lace it up as tight as you can the first time you wear it, you could damage the fabric as it doesn’t settle evenly.  So, no more than a 2 inch waist reduction at this time for a couple hours max per day – or if I want to season it quicker, 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the evening.  I may do that – I think I’m up to it.

Except for the fact that I’m wearing my bra and that’s jabbing somewhat uncomfortably into my arm, this is actually really comfortable.  It could go tighter, actually.  Once I get it seasoned, of course.  Tonight, Sir had to help me get it laced up a bit, but I’ve watched videos on how to lace it myself.  Once I have the loops where I can reach them easily and feel them easily, I think I’ll be able to do it.

I’m going to use the rollercoaster method from Romantacy to begin with, I think.  It’s a 2 inch reduction for a couple hours, increasing steadily in time.  When I’m at a point where I’m comfortable with that for 8 hours, then I cinch it more and begin again with the couple of hours and build up.  This process is repeated until I reach a plateau or where I want to be.  I can switch methods if I need to – and I may do that, but I think starting with that will give me an idea of how things are supposed to feel while I build up.

Also, I know that eating smaller meals throughout the day is ideal.  I’m going to work on that. I’m working on a healthier diet as it is and I now have an exercise buddy – possibly two – to help keep me moving and motivated.  Along with the corset, I’m hoping this will propel weight loss for me – and that an exercise buddy will keep me moving forward as well.  I plan to chronicle my experience with waist training and how it affects my shape, my measurements, my emotions and my eating and weight loss.

My measurements now are – waist 44″,  torso 12″, hips 49″ and underbust 39″.  I expect my hips and waist may change some as time goes on.

20150316_224934

It isn’t the best picture, but that’s only cinched for a two inch reduction at my waist for seasoning.

Thank you Sir, for letting me explore this.

Posted in Me

Leave a comment